We know these surrounding areas, towns, schools, businesses and people.


Serving Areas of
Farmersville - Lavon - Josephine - Nevada - Caddo Mills
Royse City - Copeville - Princeton - Wylie - Sachse




On July 28, 1947, the County School Trustees of Collin County, Texas passed an order grouping the Josephine ISD, Nevada School District, Lavon School District, Millwood School District, Mt. Piscah School District, and McMinn School District (Copeville School would join soon after) for the purpose of establishing and operating a rural high school. The District was named the Community Rural High School. The school opened with 235 students in 12 grades. There were nine graduates in the inaugural class of 1948.



The boys in the first graduating class of 1948 were charged with selecting a mascot for the new Community Rural High School. According to written accounts, the Brave was chosen because "a brave stands for strength and endurance. A brave will face any obstacle with courage. A brave is dauntless and always strives to make a good showing and is always courageous. A brave is always loyal to the tribe."

In 1986, students held a district-wide contest to give the beloved Brave mascot a name. Tammy Diaz, a CHS cheerleader, submitted the winning name: Lacone Jo. It stands for the first two letters of our four towns: Lavon, Copeville, Nevada and Josephine.

Over the years there have been many different versions of Braves clipart and some original art designs used across the district as our mascot. As we entered our 71st year, we felt it was time to celebrate our Brave mascot and give Lacone Jo an official logo.

With respect and gratitude to all who have served our nation with honor.
Thanks you, Veterans.

Kat Donnell and Jessica Scott and Associates have a long history of involvement with Veterans and there housing requirements, including VA loans and inspections, Veterans are a part of Jessica Scott & Associates and we proudly support the History Project.